Lethally Ill, Impossible to Get Treatment

I told my crazy Russian psychiatrist at my August, June, and April visits that I need to be treated for PTSD. She said I should get EMDR, but Medicaid doesn’t cover that. I told her this, but she just said “Hm”, and kept typing.

Now my psychologist aunt changes her position a second time (my friend reminds me that most people don’t remember as well as I do) to say that I have PTSD, not borderline personality disorder, and that’s what I should seek treatment for. She was “always” doubtful about both the Borderline diagnosis and the DBT recommendation (except that I gave my last therapist permission to discuss me with my aunt, after which my aunt emailed me saying she liked my therapist and agreed with the diagnosis and recommended treatment–now conveniently forgotten). So now she treats me like it’s my fault that I followed her advice/blessing. She also criticizes me harshly for “ranting” which is “an instrument of alienation” — glossing over her repeated rants to me about the horrible M family she married into (and which I never chose and hardly have any connection to; it’s not like any of them communicate with me), although I’ve been quite sympathetic to them.

I emailed and texted my psychiatrist repeatedly, to get a response, saying I desperately need treatment for PTSD, and she again told me to get EMDR. She said everyone does it (except her)! I told her what Harborview told me, which is that no one in the UW/Harborview network does EMDR. “Oh”, she said. She claims there is no other treatment for PTSD except EMDR. This is obviously false. And a great example of how America treats its people.

Leave a comment